I. Research Image Competition


  • The graphic/photo must relate to the topic presented
  • Aesthetics suitable for cover design
  • Only good print quality JPEG or TIFF files will be accepted (resolution must be 2381×7044, plus at least 300 PPI/DPI )
  • A signed photo release upon selection

The award includes:

  • a certificate;
  • cash of GBP 300;
  • featured on the cover of the conference program;
  • featured on the conference welcome banner;
  • the winner will be granted a short speaking slot during the Opening or Closing Remarks to present the featured image.

We are now accepting entries for the Energy7 Research Image Competition. Submission Deadline has been extended to 30 June 2017. The winning image will be selected on 5 July 2017. If interested, please email your image, the title and author(s)' names to

Privious Research Images Competition laureates, with their works embedded in the cover design:


Petroleomics: petroleum and its molecular fingerprint

Authors: Diana Catalina Palacio Lozano, Mary Thomas, Dr. Mark P. Barrow, University of Warwick, UK

Designer: Juan Carlos Mosquera



Title: The wind way

Authors: Prof. Herminio Martinez & Encarna Garcia
Barcelona, Technical University of Catalonia - BarcelonaTech, Spain




Title: Micro monster

Authors: Dr. Cristina Surdu-Bob, Dr. Marius
Badulescu, and Dr. Alexandru Anghel, National Institute for Lasers, Plasma and Radiation Physics, Romania




Title: Lithium ion micro batteries with interdigitated electrodes

left: metal foil housing, right: silicon housing and glass lid.

Authors: Robert Hahn, Krystan Marquardt, Katrin Höppner, Marc Ferch, Fraunhofer IZM, Berlin, Germany

Photographer: Volker Mai




Title: Meeting of the minds - increasing investments in energy efficiency

Author(s): Concept by Daryl DeJean, Graphic representation by Markia Maye.

This image is the property of: Resource Productivity Associates, United States



Title: The use of power DC-DC converters and gyrator structures for energy processing in photovoltaic solar facilities

Prof. Herminio Martínez -García, Technical University of Catalonia-BarcelonaTech, Spain


Title: Non-innocent flow battery

Dr. Mitchell R. Anstey, Sandia National Laboratories, United States






II. Best Poster Award

This award, given to the best poster presentation at the poster session, includes:

  • a certificate;
  • the winner will be granted a short speaking slot during the Banquet Lunch to present the poster to all delegates.
The winner will be selected by the Conference Scientific Committee.

Privious Best Poster Award laureates:

Best Poster Award (Energy7)

Sputter-deposited Nanostructured Metal-Oxide Films for Hydrogen Gas Sensing


Stanislav Haviar
Department of Physics and NTIS
Faculty of Applied Sciences
University of West Bohemia, Pilsen
Czech Republic


Best Poster Awards (ECM6)


Development of a ocean-current turbine for the Kuroshio Current


Dr. Katsutoshi Shirasawa
Staff Scientist
Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University

Comparative energetic assessment of integrated H2- and CH4- production via biomass supercritical water gasification


Thomas Kohl
Research Engineer, MSc
Department of Energy Technology
Aalto University School of Engineering


Best Poster Award (ECM5)

Mechanics-based investigation into the structural integrity of core-shell nanostructured electrodes for lithium ion batteries

Poster, News

Weiqun Li
Department of Mechanical Engineering
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University




Since 2013 Copyright ©North Sea Conference & Journal. All rights reserved.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom, SC452202




About NSCJ